Michael Madow Bar Grant Program

Program Overview


For the past few years, BLSPI has auspiced a grant program offering $1,000 each to 20 graduating students who are dedicated to entering the public interest law sector.  We also give a special thanks to the Leo Rosner Family Foundation for their continued support of this Program.


As public interest-minded students graduate from BLS, they are faced with financial hurdles that are unique to those seeking to enter public interest or government work. Bar review courses can cost upwards of $4,000, while bar examination fees average hundreds of dollars. Studying for the bar exam is a full-time endeavor for nine weeks, leaving little to no time for graduates to earn any supplemental income. Public interest-minded graduates, oftentimes without a future employer willing to subsidize these expenses, and because federal student loans do not cover bar exam preparation and cost of living during this time, are frequently forced to seek private loans to subsidize this transitional period.


BLSPI responded to this need by sourcing this grant program that lowers the post-graduation financial hurdles for students pursuing public interest law. We hope many 3Ls apply, including non-BLSPI members who meet the qualifications!



Public interest is defined as the work of:


* 501(c)(3) organizations within the United States;

* Federal, state and city government organizations, including judicial chambers;

* International intergovernmental organizations not organized for monetary gain; and

* Foreign non-governmental organizations recognized by the committee as pursuing the public good.


The following was not considered work in the public interest:


* Employment that primarily benefits the members of a limited membership organization such as a credit union, fraternal or religious order, or a cooperative;

* Work for which one’s political support or party affiliation is taken into account in the hiring decision; and

* Direct lobbying on the federal, state or local government level.





Charli Cleland

Ellen Piriz Perez

Maria Ryden

Brenden Ross

Maura Heron

Caitrin Coccoma

Claire Gavin

Stephanie Michael

Morgan Guinnip

Shalisa Cumberbatch

Gabriel Guimaraes

Jill Rudge

Zareen Iqbal

Alyssa Wolfe

Raul Galan


Bailey Cohen

Caitlyn Garcia

Kayla Smith

Michele Jackson

Elizabeth Potter

Vilma Ilic

Emilia Foto

Ramsha Ansari

Jessica Olive

Rebecca Del Grande

Taylor Schlussel

Katharine Schloemer

Jennifer Stevenson

Yasemin Akturk

Oren Kadosh

Lena Janoda

Karine Ter-Grigoryan

William Granados

Charlotte Thomas

Claudia Martinez



Bailee Brown

Edward Soto

Andrea Scheer

Farhana Hassan Choudhury

Valerie Tsesarenko

Reza Bonachea Mohamadzadeh

Mario Fitzgerald

John Jozkowski

Kyleen Breslin

Javionte Johnson

Alia Soomro

Spencer Smith

Aleksandra Ciric

Michael Sheftman

Michael Tal

Michael Madow Bar Grant Recipients


Gilbert Zelaya
Victoria Phillips
Libbi Vilher
Erik Vande Stouwe
Allison Broad
Azizah Ahmad
Martyna Kaznowski
Elizabeth French
Ara Chung
Codruta Antonovici
Sarah Stoughton
Sean Beherec
Camillia Brown
Marvin Espana
Michelle Lee
Christina Rhode
Kenneth Zwerin






Crystal Peters

Delaney Rohan 
Victor Montemayor
Kyla Burke-Lazarus 
Katherine Crisona 
Caroline Roe 
Erin McMullan
Tanvee Trehan
Sarah Rizk 
Alexandra Briggs 
Taylor Poe 
Jamaal Jones 
Michelle Ward 
Christopher Antonelli 
Zack Goldberg
Suzanna Talbot 
Alexandra Goodman
Liana Goff 
Rachel Russel


David Karopkin

Lauren Price

Janeen Hall

Ashley Fertig

Heather Bristol

Ian Dooley

Amanda Barfield

Zamira Djaborova

Saya Austin

Amanda Shapiro

Edward Mostoller

Joseph Luhra

Elana Rodman

Eric Eingold

Clarissa Wertman

BLSPI Brooklyn Law Students for the Public Interest

email: info@blspi.org

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle